Cross-border e-com pilot zones in 22 Chinese cities

July 21, 2018 - China

As part of its ‘firm commitment’ to open up, China has identified 22 additional cities as pilot zones for comprehensive cross-border e-commerce to upgrade foreign trade, the State Council recently announced. Such pilot zones set up in 2015 in 13 cities have made much progress, with cross-border e-commerce turnover doubling year on year for two years in a row.

Priority will be given to central and western regions and northeast China.

The 22 cities are Beijing, Hohhot, Shenyang, Changchun, Harbin, Nanjing, Nanchang, Wuhan, Changsha, Nanning, Haikou, Guiyang, Kunming, Xi’an, Lanzhou, Xiamen, Tangshan, Wuxi, Weihai, Zhuhai, Dongguan and Yiwu.

"Cross-border e-commerce has made rapid and notable achievements since the pilot zones were established and has become a new area of growth for imports and exports. We should facilitate domestic consumption and at the same time improve export quality in the global market," an official Chinese news agency quoted Premier Li Keqiang as saying at a State Council executive meeting recently.

Some of the practices in customs clearance and logistics facilitation at such pilot zones have been replicated nationwide and have helped boost entrepreneurship, innovation and industrial upgrading.

The government urged e-commerce companies to develop overseas warehouses and a global marketing network, cultivate their own brands and diversify export markets to boost foreign trade upgrading and enhance economic competitiveness. (DS)