Home / Knowledge / News / Fashion / 'Stretch to the future' winners announced
'Stretch to the future' winners announced
May '09
RadiciSpandex Corporation has announced the five winners of the 2009 “Stretch to the Future” Scholarship Design Competition held with the junior class design students of The Fashion School of Kent State University. Staged at Kent's Manhattan design studio on April 24, the judging session also feted designers Lisa Mayock and Sophie Buhai, founders of the popular contemporary womenswear label Vena Cava, as this year's honoree judges leading a diverse panel of apparel industry experts. The respected charitable organization The Underfashion Club (UFC) returned for a second year as sponsor of the contest's lingerie award.

After opening remarks from Kent State University Fashion School instructor Paula Dancie, RadiciSpandex Corp. Marketing Manager Kim Hall presented Mayock and Buhai with the 2009 Stretch to the Future honoree awards and the young design duo expressed their appreciation for being recognized as role models for Kent's design students. The judging panel then selected scholarship winners in the categories of eveningwear, activewear, swimwear, lingerie and a Grand Prize Overall.

Alexandria Kakoules, 21, of Canton, OH, won the Grand Prize for her one-piece swimsuit constructed in fabrics donated by Darlington Fabrics. Activewear award winner Christine Barbas created her three-piece design consisting of a zip-up vest, a long-sleeve top and leggings using fabrics from Darlington, Gehring Textiles, Paul Gottlieb and Sextet Fabrics.

Chelsea Paskvan won the swimwear category for her swimsuit and cover-up designed in fabrics from Sextet. Brittney Sampsel took the lingerie honors for a bustier and panty featuring Sextet and Cyberknit fabrics while Jenna Weickert won the eveningwear category with her gown designed in black stretch fabric from Darlington.

This year's winners were selected from a field of 30 students, nearly double the previous year's entrants. The students competed with garments designed in stretch fabrics containing RadiciSpandex RadElast spandex donated by Brookwood Companies, Darlington Fabrics, Gehring Textiles, McMurray Fabrics, Paul Gottlieb, Sextet Fabrics, Starensier, and Symphony Fabrics.

In addition to Mayock and Buhai, the judging panelists included RadiciSpandex Corp. Marketing Manager Kim Hall, Don Allen, VP, design, Warners; Jade Frampton, market editor, Elle Magazine; Roslyn Harte, president, Lances Harte; Maria Hinchcliff, director of raw materials development and R&D, Maidenform; Helen Mears, design director, Wacoal America; Brian Meck, general manager, Fessler USA, Lesley Pfitzenmayer, textiles design manager, Amoena; Barbara Randall, director of The Fashion Center; and Barbara Ross, president, Sextet Fabrics.

Created in 1999, the “Stretch to the Future” Design Scholarship Competition inspires the creative development of design students while educating them about the technical aspects of garment construction using fashion fabrics containing a highly technical fiber such as RadElast by RadiciSpandex.

Each year, RadiciSpandex invites a well-known designer to head up the “Stretch to the Future” judging panel of apparel industry experts. Previous recipients of this honor include Betsey Johnson, Dana Buchman, Nicole Miller, Nanette Lepore, Carmen Marc Valvo and Marc Bouwer, among others.

RadiciSpandex Corporation

Must ReadView All

Courtesy: Pexels

Fashion | On 23rd Jun 2018

Nigerian bank launches N1 bn fund for fashion entrepreneur

Nigeria’s Bank of Industry has set aside 1 billion Naira (N) to...

Courtesy: Tayal

Textiles | On 23rd Jun 2018

Tayal textile factory in Algeria starts exports to Turkey

Algeria’s largest textile factory, the joint Algerian-Turkish company ...

Courtesy: Manhattan Beachwear

Fashion | On 23rd Jun 2018

Manhattan Beachwear in global partnership with BCBG Group

Manhattan Beachwear, the largest swimwear manufacturer in the US, has ...

Interviews View All

Subhashini Srinivasan
The S Studio

Ethnicwear market will see an upward trend if uniqueness and quality are...

Abhishek Samdaria

GST will certainly reduce a lot of paperwork in future

Top executives
Textile industry, India

The event should be organised every year

Akshat Chaudhary

Aizome, Asia's first Fairtrade denim brand, is all set to launch next...

John Kelley

Textile Events is one of the largest textile fair in the United Kingdom,...

Kamal Kulshreshth

Colorjet is among the fastest-growing wide format digital inkjet print...

Johan Berlin
InvestKonsult Sweden AB

Investkonsult Sweden AB has been buying and selling second-hand textile...

Larry L Kinn
Suominen Corporation

Larry L Kinn, Senior Vice President - Operations Americas of Suominen...

Mark Paterson
Technical Absorbents Ltd

Mark Paterson, R&D manager of Technical Absorbents Ltd talks about Super...

Samar Firdos
Arvind Ltd

<b>Samar Firdos</b>, Chief Manager (Design) at Lifestyle Apparel Denim...

Prathyusha Garimella
Prathyusha Garimella

Hyderabad-based designer <b>Prathyusha Garimella</b> is known for blending ...

Wendell Rodricks
Wendell Rodricks

"We should not compare India and the West. There are things we do that...

Press Release

Press Release

Letter to Editor

Letter to Editor

RSS Feed

RSS Feed

Submit your press release on


Letter To Editor

(Max. 8000 char.)

Search Companies


Leave your Comments

June 2018

Subscribe today and get the latest update on Textiles, Fashion, Apparel and so on.

news category

Related Categories:

Advanced Search