Home / Knowledge / News / Fashion / Student winners for 'Stretch to the Future' announced

Student winners for 'Stretch to the Future' announced

Apr '10
RadiciSpandex Corporation on April 22 celebrated Jeffrey Chow, creative director for contemporary womenswear label Poleci, as the honoree designer judge for the tenth annual edition of “Stretch to the Future,” one of the longest-running fashion design competitions sponsored by a fiber company.

RadiciSpandex Marketing Manager Kim Hall presented Chow the “Stretch to the Future” Award during a judging session held at Kent State University's New York design studio to determine the winners of this year's competition, held for the fourth consecutive year with the junior class design students of the university's Fashion School.

Chow led the panel of apparel industry experts, which included members of the charitable organization The Underfashion Club (UFC), which returned for a third year as sponsor of the contest's lingerie award.The judging panel selected scholarship winners in the categories of eveningwear, activewear, swimwear, lingerie and a Grand Prize Overall.

Winning top honors in eveningwear was Samantha Hawkins, who also won the Grand Prize for an elegant black gown created in stretch fabrics donated by Guilford Performance Textiles and McMurray Fabrics. Bethany Clark took the activewear prize for her garment made of fabrics from McMurray and Polartec while the swimwear prize went to Ashley Gerber's corsetlike two-piece suit constructed of fabrics donated by Guilford and McMurray. Phillip Fry emerged as the lingerie category winner with a bra-and-panty set featuring fabrics donated by Polartec and TDB Tecidos.

This year's winners were selected from a field of 51 students --- 20 more than last year's entrants. The students competed with garments designed in stretch fabrics containing RadiciSpandex RadElast spandex donated by ABC Elastic Corp., Contempora Fabrics, Cyber Knit Fabrics, Darlington Fabrics, Guilford Performance Textiles, McMurray Fabrics, Monte Textil S.A., Polartec, Rentex, Sextet Fabrics, and TDB Tecidos.

In addition to Chow, the judging panelists included RadiciSpandex Corp. Marketing Manager Kim Hall, Allison Spahr, Global Director of Design, Polartec; Ruth Finley, Publisher, Fashion Calendar; Mark Lazarus, Vice President, Technical Fabric Development, Sustainability and Innovation, A&H Sportswear; Roseanne Morrison, Fashion Director, The Doneger Group; Menachem Katz, President, Cyber Knit Fabrics; Augusta Smargiassi, Senior Deputy Trade Commissioner, Italian Trade Commission; Laura Parzych, Product Development Manager, Darlington Fabrics; Debbie Lakis, Intimate Apparel Designer, Warnaco, Inc.; and Vivienne Lee, Design Director, Warnaco, Inc.

Created in 1999, the “Stretch to the Future” Design Scholarship Competition inspires the creative development of design students while educating them about the technical aspects of garment construction using fashion fabrics containing a highly technical fiber such as RadElast by RadiciSpandex. Eachyear, RadiciSpandex invites a well-known designer to head up the “Stretch to the Future” judging panel of apparel industry experts. Previous recipients of this honor include Betsey Johnson, Dana Buchman, Nicole Miller, Nanette Lepore, Carmen Marc Valvo and Marc Bouwer, among others.


Must ReadView All

Pic: Shutterstock

Apparel/Garments | On 28th Jul 2021

French Parliament passes law to apply 'carbon labels’ to garments

The French Parliament recently approved a climate bill that will...

Pic: Shutterstock

Textiles | On 28th Jul 2021

Global economy projected to grow at 6% in 2021, 4.9% in 2022: IMF

The IMF recently projected the global economy to grow at 6 per cent...

Pic: Shutterstock

Textiles | On 28th Jul 2021

Prime Content| Why is home textile sourcing shifting from Pak & China to Bangladesh?

Buyers in the US, EU and UK are shifting their textile sourcing from...

Interviews View All

Textile Industry, Head honchos

Textile Industry
Head honchos

Extension of RoSCTL to boost textile exports

Textile Industry, Head honchos

Textile Industry
Head honchos

Good tidings expected for textile industry

Florian Heubrandner, Lenzing AG

Florian Heubrandner
Lenzing AG

Cannot see the world breaking away from cotton & polyester

Susan Bhaktul,

Susan Bhaktul

Established in 2000 as a liaison with the Government of India, Industree...

Mumin Can Eker,

Mumin Can Eker

Maseksport Inc is a readymade garment exporter. Founded in Izmir in 1989,...

Raiyan Islam,

Raiyan Islam

Founded in 1981 by Sayeeful Islam, Concorde Garments Group is a market...

Sanjay Raut, Garware Technical Fibres Ltd

Sanjay Raut
Garware Technical Fibres Ltd

Garware Technical Fibres Ltd (formerly Garware-Wall Ropes Ltd) is a...

Michaela Griggs & Peggy Schulz, Barco Uniforms

Michaela Griggs & Peggy Schulz
Barco Uniforms

Founded in 1929, Barco Uniforms started as an apparel company for beauty...

Tiasha Renganathan, Twinery Innovations by MAS

Tiasha Renganathan
Twinery Innovations by MAS

Twinery-Innovations by MAS is the innovation arm of Sri Lankan company MAS ...

Sailesh Singhania, Sailesh Singhania Label

Sailesh Singhania
Sailesh Singhania Label

The Sailesh Singhania label was created to promote handwoven sarees and...

Niti Singhal, Twee In One

Niti Singhal
Twee In One

Best known for convertible clothing, Indian brand Twee In One by designer...

Suman Nathwani, Suman Nathwani

Suman Nathwani
Suman Nathwani

Designer <b>Suman Nathwani</b> talks about her journey of opening a...

Press Release

Press Release

Letter to Editor

Letter to Editor

RSS Feed

RSS Feed

Submit your press release on


Letter To Editor

(Max. 8000 char.)

Search Companies


Leave your Comments

July 2021

Subscribe today and get the latest update on Textiles, Fashion, Apparel and so on.

Advanced Search